top of page
Writer's pictureGabbi

Mother's Day

An unanswerable question: What are you doing for Mother's Day?" If someone who doesn't know me asks, maybe I'll say "I don't know yet." But when it was my sister who texted and asked me "What are we doing for Mother's Day?" accompanied by a sad faced emoji, I stopped and thought about it a little longer.


I had been dealing with Mother's Day by not thinking about it, pushing it out of my mind. But my mother deserves something, I think.


Articles online suggest spending time alone, reflecting on your mother's life, celebrating her life, etc. A prayer. A party. A look-back at old photo albums.


No matter what we choose, it will make me cry.


I don't know if my mother would really want anything, though, because she never asked for anything for Mother's Day or any other day of the year. She just always wanted us to be happy doing what we wanted.


In fact, I worked in Milwaukee the morning of Mother's Day and then accompanied my boyfriend to his family's home for his own mother's celebration. I brought her flower's from a grocery store and bread from the bakery I worked at. I'm fairly certain I texted my mom about it. Now I wonder if she was jealous.


I am ashamed and regretful for missing out on one more day with my mother.


"What are we doing for Mother's Day?"

I text my sister back and tell her I'll drive up after work and we can go to the pho restaurant she told me about and then bake 3 different versions of banana bread.


My mom never tried pho. My mom never baked anything besides box mix cakes. But on this Mother's Day, I want to celebrate still having a sister.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday!

In seven days I turn 28, the age my mom warned(?)promised(?)declared that "everything" would change: how I act and react, what I desire...

8/20/23

An anniversary. A commemoration. A mourning. A celebration. Burdensome. Meaningful. Hollow. Shocking. Special. Absurd. Lonely. After the...

Comments


bottom of page