top of page
Writer's pictureGabbi

washed clothes in the rain

It began to rain this afternoon. Clouds dripping grey all over Milwaukee. On my drive home I saw a woman lugging a full clothes basket out of the laundromat towards her car. Through the rain. It made me chuckle thinking about the clothing getting wet on purpose in the washer, drying out by the electric coils of the dryer, and then resubmerging in a "bad wet" of the weather.


Spinning wet in the wash cycle.

Spinning dry in the dryer cycle.

Pummeled wet by the rain, by the splash of a hose, by the crash of a wave.

Cycling back to the washer to the dryer to the unpredictable elements.

Cycling until we recycle them or throw them away.

Maybe I'll start washing clothes in the rain.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday!

In seven days I turn 28, the age my mom warned(?)promised(?)declared that "everything" would change: how I act and react, what I desire...

8/20/23

An anniversary. A commemoration. A mourning. A celebration. Burdensome. Meaningful. Hollow. Shocking. Special. Absurd. Lonely. After the...

Comments


bottom of page